What is Your Superpower?

superhero

by Dan

My grandmother was a superhero.  At least that’s what my best friend thought when we were seven.  And what superpower did my grandmother possess that caused her to loom so large in the imagination of my friend?  She could bring saltine crackers back from the dead.

One day my friend and I were scrounging around for a snack.  We found an opened box of saltines and each bit into one.  Not good! They were stale.  My grandmother overheard us.  “Give me those crackers and let’s see what we can do,” she said. She turned on the oven, placed the stale crackers on a cookie sheet and popped them in.  A few minutes later hot, crispy crackers emerged.  My friend couldn’t believe such a thing could happen.  And for years he talked about what my grandmother had done.

As it turns out, we all have superpowers.

Not x-ray vision and the ability to leap tall buildings in a single bound, but the ability to bring delight to others, to spread joy, and to make life a little better for those around us.  Some of these superpowers are called kindness, ingenuity, compassion, generosity, forgiveness, hospitality, being a good friend.  These superpowers, while seemingly small, have the capacity to change the world.

What is your superpower?

2 thoughts on “What is Your Superpower?

  1. 🙂 I was just talking about this to some colleagues yesterday! During a retreat we were asked to tell everyone our superhero identity and the title of our theme song… I said the title of my theme song was “I Am NOT Superwoman” . I now sport a tattoo of a crumbling stone Superman-like emblem with vines growing in the cracks. I guess my super power is letting folks know they can say “No”.

Leave a Reply

